The TESOL Virginia French Allen Award for Scholarship and Service

Who's Eligible?

Any member of a TESOL affiliate. Individual membership status with TESOL International Association does not affect eligibility.


The Virginia French Allen Award was established in 1990 by Dr. Allen's former students in honor of her long-time contributions to the field. The award honors an ESOL teacher who has shared scholarship and provided service to a TESOL International Association affiliate.


A 3-year membership or membership extension in TESOL, including subscription to TESOL Quarterly.


Selection is based on evidence of contributions to the professional development of the nominee's affiliate colleagues as well as contributions to the running of the affiliate organization. Applications are evaluated based on documentation describing these contributions. Each TESOL affiliate may nominate one candidate each year.

How to Nominate a Colleague Online

To complete the online nomination process, you will need the following information. You are strongly encouraged to gather this information before you begin the application. That way, you can fill out the nomination completely, and you will not have to go back and fill in items later.

Candidate Information

Please provide the candidate's
  • full name
  • name of TESOL Affiliate
  • place of residence (city, state, country)
  • email address
  • phone number

Nomination Letter

Nomination letters should describe how the nominee has (a) shared ideas and professional insights with colleagues and (b) contributed to the work of the affiliate. Activities to be described could include conference presentations, in-service workshops, offices held, services to the affiliate, and others. Please include specific examples of the nominee's contributions to the affiliate.

Supporting Documentation

  • Letter from a colleague, either at the affiliate level or educational institutional level, describing the quality and significance of the nominee's contributions to the affiliate
  • Nominee's curriculum vitae
Download the evaluation rubric. 

Application Deadline

Accepting applications starting 1 July. All applications are due November 1.

Past Award Recipients

Cyn Calle Ocho2017 Recipient: Cynthia M. Schuemann
Dr. Cynthia Schuemann is a professor of EAP and linguistics at Miami Dade College, and recognized as an award winning faculty member, administrator, and grant project leader. Her research interests include corpus linguistics, content-based instruction, and assessment. She has given presentations and workshops worldwide, and authored and edited ESL materials, such as the "English for Academic Success" series. Dr. Schuemann is a current board member and past president of Sunshine State TESOL, and past co-chair of TESOL International Association’s Materials Writers Interest Section. She is also a leader on the Florida EAP Consortium for community colleges. 

View a list of all past recipients.


Please contact  TESOL Awards.

Apply Now